Indemnities and Allowances.\*-Members of the Senate receive a sessional indemnity of \$4,000. In addition, they receive an annual expense allowance of \$2,000 paid at the end of each calendar year. Members of the House of Commons are paid a sessional indemnity of \$4,000. In addition, they receive \$2,000 as an expense allowance paid at the end of each calendar year. This allowance, except in the case of Ministers of the Crown and the Leaders of the Opposition in the House and in the Senate, is not subject to income tax. The remuneration of a Cabinet Minister is \$10,000 a year and the Prime Minister \$15,000, in addition to the sessional indemnity and expense allowance each receives as a Member of Parliament. The Leader of the Opposition also receives \$10,000 a year in addition to his sessional indemnity and expense allowance. A Cabinet Minister is also entitled to a motor-car allowance of \$2,000. The Speakers of the Senate and of the House of Commons receive, besides their sessional indemnity and expense allowance, a salary of \$6,000 and a motor-car allowance of \$1,000 and are also entitled to \$3,000 in lieu of residence. The Deputy Speaker of the House of Commons receives a salary of \$4,000 and an allowance in lieu of a residence of \$1,500. Parliamentary Assistants to the Ministers of the Crown, of whom there were 12 at Dec. 31, 1953, receive \$4,000 sessional indemnity as Members of Parliament, \$4,000 a year as Parliamentary Assistants and the \$2,000 expense allowance paid to all Members of Parliament.

The Federal Government Franchise.—Legislation concerning the right to vote at federal elections is outlined in the 1947 Year Book, pp. 72-73.

The present franchise laws are contained in the Canada Elections Act (R.S.C. 1952, c. 23). The franchise is conferred upon all Canadian citizens or British subjects, men and women, who have attained the age of 21 years and who have been ordinarily resident in Canada for 12 months prior to polling day at a federal election, and ordinarily resident in the electoral district on the date of the issue of the writ ordering such election. Persons denied the right to vote are:—

- (1) Judges appointed by the Governor General in Council;
- (2) The returning officer for each electoral district;
- (3) Persons undergoing punishment as inmates of any penal institution for the commission of any offence;
- (4) Indians ordinarily resident on an Indian Reserve who were not members of His Majesty's Forces in World Wars I or II, or who did not execute a waiver of exemption under the Indian Act from taxation on and in respect of personal property;
- (5) Persons restrained of their liberty or deprived of the management of their property by reason of mental disease;
- (6) Doukhobors who are exempt from military service and are disqualified by provincial law from voting at elections of members of the legislative assembly;
- (7) Persons disqualified, under any law relating to the disqualification of electors, for corrupt and illegal practices.

The Canadian Defence Service Voting Regulations set out in the Schedule to the Canada Elections Act prescribe voting procedure for members of the Armed Forces of Canada and also for veterans in receipt of treatment or domiciliary care in certain institutions.

<sup>\*</sup> Bills affecting the indemnities of Members of the House of Commons, the Senate, Cabinet Ministers, etc., were being debated in Parliament in February 1954.